Bed & Breakfast

History

Twelve Oaks Plantation is a grand estate nestled among magnificent oak trees in the heart of Cajun Country. The home sits on a 750-acre working sugar cane plantation and overlooks the ever-flowing Big Bayou Black in Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana.

The history of Twelve Oaks Plantation all began when the land was given as a grant from the Spanish to the Martin family in the 1800s. Shortly after, the original plantation building was built and became part of Mandalay Plantation which collectively was the grounds of Houma Sugars Inc, a large sugarcane plant and sugar manufacturer. The original building later became part of the well-known historic Southdown Plantation. In 1930, the entire plant was converted to electric power to adapt to new, more efficient technology. But only six years later, tragedy would strike. The year was 1936 and every building of the sugarcane plant burnt to the ground. It would be another 14 years before a plantation would be resurrected on the grounds. The Newman family purchased the property and built the existing home in 1950. Mr. Fred Newman hired an architect to design the home and gave him a Community Coffee package to use as his inspiration for the design. Today, Twelve Oaks Plantation is a full service bed and breakfast owned and operated by the warm and loving Cenac family, who also happens to be one of the oldest, most prominent families in Terrebonne Parish, Louisiana.